Steps from dry tracks to final mix?

thisisbrianly

Hey everyone,

I'm working on my first second project currently - it will be for my wedding coming up in June. The song will basically be a few layers of acoustic guitars and one vocal track, no harmonies.

I have recorded all the dry tracks in Audacity and they sound as good as I'll get them. I would like to put some compression and reverb on the vocal track - not sure what effects for the acoustic guitars yet.

My question is what are the steps I need to take from now until the finished product. Effects, then mix, or the other way around, or amplifying all tracks first....?? I'm completely lost on what to do next and what to do first. Are there any good, simple tutorials on steps after dry recording?

Any guidance would be appreciated - thanks!

the wait...

Hey BrianLY,
I see no responses yet so I'll jump in though I'm not an expert by any stretch of imagination. So take what I say with some grains and keep asking...

On my first acoustic tracks I added too many effects with the idea that doing so would make it sound more professional. Now, I realize that if it sounds fairly decent, the trick is to keep what you've got and make it sound more consistent, fuller. I'm not quite there yet but my sense is that compression and maybe some eq-ing will get you most of the way there and then a little reverb to liven up a little followed by a final 'MIX' compession or limiter to keep all the levels as hot as possible and uniform.

I recently read a post elsewhere that was really helpful...I'll find the citation for you and email you. basically the idea is this (and it is not mine):

clone each guitar track twice
leave the original alone
slide one of the clone tracks "left" or back by two clicks and pan 25%left
slide the other track "right" or forward (towards the end of the song) by one click and pan 25% right