improvised drum mic placing, first time recording drums problems (long post sorry)

AbuseTheMuses

Okay, I this is my first time micing up a drum set for studio recording. I have done live sound drum mixes for years but am quickly discovering that this is a very different creature. Here is the problem: I have a wierd 'popping' sound from my kick drum. Let me say first that my setup is very ad-hoc mishmash of stuff i have accumulated over the years. I have no budget to expand and very limited work space, a less than ideal room (corner of a cluttered concrete basement) but I am determined to get this as right as I can.

Here's the setup:

It's a 4 piece drum set with a hi-hat and single crash cymbal which I have off to the left side of the kick drum along with the snare and hat, while the rack and floor toms take the right side. This makes it easier to get 2 distinct room sounds with one more emphasizing the cymbals and one more the toms.
My gear for this project is 2 different condensers (1 large D, 1 small D) as room mics, and 2 different dynamics (both cheapy) for close mics, and a Behringer analogue mixer for preamps and levels and a digital standalone to record to.

By using the condensers for one close and one far room mixes, and one of the dynamics between the hat and snare, I got a nice even mix of everything but the kick.

SOoooo... here's the final problem: I put my trusty pillow in the open-faced kick drum to muffle the ringyness of it, I rested the last dynamic mic (the general purpose Tascam) on the pillow inside the drum, just like I did for live drum micing, hoping to add a bit of snap and oomph to the reasonably well balance mix I have so far.