a capella recording

eujinn

hi, i'm no aspiring performer. just a pretty average vocalist, and i like to record songs basically for my friends, etc.

i do a capella, and am tired of using the primitive method of recording i've been using for quite some time. i.e. 1) using mp3 player to record the song's melody being sung. 2) play that melody on a normal computer spkr, at the same time recording it together with me singing the backup/harmony this time round.

so what i get is the melody sounds kind of distorted since it is being played out from a basic spkr. i tried having tri-harmonies but the first part just gets too distorted.

so essentially i need a mic and a multi-recorder. is there anything else i need?

a few things about myself:

1) on budget. i'm not looking for world-class stuff.

2) i'm looking at singing 4 or 5 part a capella arrangements( lead vocals, accompaniment, bass vocals, beat box)

3) i'm quite unfortunately quite tech-unsavvy. total noob.

i hope someone has some suggestions for me! would really appreciate it!

Welcome to this forum! You should describe what kind of computer you have (brand, speed, RAM, etc.) I'm assuming you have the stock soundcard in your mystery computer; here's a good site to read up on soundcards, which are the most important link (and can be the gold link, but not necessarily) in what will be your new way of recording: http://www.tweakheadz.com/soundcards_for_the_home_studio.htm
You say you're on a budget: How much can you spend? You'll need just a mic, presumably the soundcard, and recording software. So, $100.00, $100.00, free. For around two hundred, you will get results that you will like, probably really like.