Guitar solo

IsmaelTapiaII

Hey, everyone,
I've been working on this song for a while, and I decided that it was finally time to sit down and work out the guitar solo. And here it is. I'm pretty happy with both the actual music and with the recording, although, obviously, it's far from perfect.

I'd really appreciate any comments or suggestions you guys have on any aspect of this thing, from the guitar tone to my playing to anything--your criticism can only help me improve, and I really appreciate it.

Just so you know, I'm a guitarist and, although I played both the bass and the drums on this, I can't really play either. So those parts definitely suck.

Anyway, here's the file:

Thanks for your comments!

Not much I can really say, except that you need to eq the bass a bit and give it some definition. I can't really hear it. Of course I am on headphones, so that might be the culprit.

The playing is pretty good. Did you actually play the drums, or is it a drum program? Not bad sounding...

As far as the bass, like I said, I'm not a bassist, and I haven't recorded the bass too much before. I hear what you're saying about it being kinda hard to hear. What would you suggest specifically that I do to it with the EQ?

Here's the story on the drums. I hate the way that programmed drums sound, but I live in an apartment and hadn't played the drums before, so I didn't want to buy real drums. So I bought the cheapest electronic drum set I could find, just so that I could practice without disturbing my neighbors and play along to stuff. So the drums are sampled, but the execution is live.

As far as the bass, like I said, I'm not a bassist, and I haven't recorded the bass too much before. I hear what you're saying about it being kinda hard to hear. What would you suggest specifically that I do to it with the EQ?