first timer - world/folk instrumental

Ok, see over there where it says "newbie?" :p

This is my first quasi-serious attempt at recording something presentable. I'm trying to (beginning to) work on my recording chops in preparation for my band self-producing a new CD this year. I've been reading HR.com every day since i found it, and i hope to participate more actively here as my skills and knowledge develop (with your help!) ;)

Anyway, it's my first time in the clinic, so please be gentle. I realize this isn't the genre of music most people here are likely to listen to.

This is an original tune, with me playing 10-string cittern, mandolin, jew's harp, and cornemuse (central French bagpipe). Recorded through an mxl603s (bagpipe) and a Studio Projects B1 (everything else) into the M-Audio Omni-Studio, into Cool Edit Pro.

Any suggestions and constructive criticism would be greatly appreciated, keeping in mind i've heard all the bagpipe jokes already. :)

"Simma Till Sverige" ->

Be seeing you,

eric.

Hmmm....no replies yet, that's strange. First off, let me start by saying, I like bagpipes! Though this doesn't sound like a difficult piece, I thought you did a good job on it. It's a nice piece. Were you ramping up the fader gain to gradually build up a crescendo during the song? If so, I like that idea, but I would try to achieve it naturally by bulding the intensity of the arrangement and performance instead of riding the fader. If that's not what you were doing, you can just ignore me now.
Best of luck, and don't be discouraged by the bagpipe jokes. You know most of them are interchangeable with oboe jokes anyway!

Twist