Another newbie acoustic recording (warning: sappy 70s love song)

Sage97

It's the Bread cover, "Make it With You."

I did everything so please feel free to offer advice/feedback/comments.

In fact, I'll start. I think my guitar playing is lousy especially for a song that's very easy to play. My bass playing which I took up just a few minutes before recording the song is even worse. Lastly, I need to redo the vocals. My excuse? I'm a newbie. :)

http://www.nowhereradio.com/artists/?aid=4579/singles

Last edited:
Reactions: XLR
NO! Dont redo the vocals!! Excellent vocals throughout... I mean really excellent. And I wouldn't change anything in the arrangement.

The guitar tracks' tone and rhythmic tightness though don't match the quality of the singing, IMO. It'd be worth it to do some intensive tracking of the guitar parts to get them tighter and richer. The bass is very close, but that frequent quick rhythm is just a little off some of the time.

I think the vocal is so good in this that it'd be worth spending a lot of hours tracking the guitars to get a fuller tone and articulate rhythm. Oh, and I wouldn't pan the guitars so far to each side myself but that's a matter of personal taste.

How have you been mic'ing the guitar?

Tim

Hey, the vocals are awesome! Very nice. The guitars are good, but I agree with Tim, a little behind the quality of the vocals. Especially the rhythm guitar. The little lead parts and solo sound great. I've never heard the original, but I'm liking this. The guitar/bass tone at 3:00 sounds a bit muffled on my system. Overall, very nice song!

Tim and Snakedog,

Thanks for the compliment on my vocals and the critique on my guitar playing. I'll try to redo the guitars here within the next few days and pay more attention to tone and tighter playing.

Tim,

Thanks for the rumble CD. I have yet to listen to it because I know my solo would be the most laughable one. :)