What monitors do you use?

What monitors do you use?

• Total voters
i use cheap alesis m1 320 usb monitors. they sound great when i playback audio from my mac via the usb. but when i monitor and playback through cubase (using jacks from interface to monitors) the sound is noticeably less in volume, this has nothing to do with my mix because when i export the mixdown and playback through usb it is louder.

any ideas

dave

I use JVC bookshelf speakers as nearfields, they have a Bass Port, a 1 inch tweeter and a 5 inch woofer. Believe it or not, they're pretty flat speakers. Got them for 12 dollars at Goodwill! I also use Harmon/Kardon's for room speakers and a 3rd set of vintage floorstanding Cerwin Vega's with 15" woofers. If it doesn't sound good on those, it won't sound good anywhere. I've been listening to those speakers since I was 4 years old so I KNOW what they sound like!

I'm using Mackie MR8s and Warfedale Diamond 7.1 monitors. The MR8s can be a little flattering, so the warfedales are great for comparisson.

I've been using Tapco S-8s with a Tapco SW-10 sub. I really love the way the system sounds, but often feel it doesn't always translate well. Of course, this could be a function of my completely untreated listening space.

The Mackie HR824s (first generation, not the MKii) I've used at school always sounded great, so I've considered picking up a used pair of those now that the MKii is pushing first gen's price down a bit.

Yamaha NS10s seems to have a great reputation when it comes to translating, but then there's the question of what amp do you drive them with. Anyone have any opinions?

I've been using Tapco S-8s with a Tapco SW-10 sub. I really love the way the system sounds, but often feel it doesn't always translate well. Of course, this could be a function of my completely untreated listening space.