Recording and Mixing Heavy, Direct Input Electric Guitars [Questions!] :)

aaronglass

[EDIT: Didn't know where this topic should go]

Hey everyone!

Not only am I new to this forum, but I'm new to recording/mixing. I love music. I create music all the time. Problem is, getting that music to SOUND good through my recordings xD

So far my setup includes 2 KRK 5 monitors, a mac mini with 8gb RAM, a line6 UX2, and Logic Express 9.

My direct input recordings sound sort of muddy (it could be just the tone's fault...the quality and bit rate is all maxed out so it's not physical quality) I've heard some bands (such as Like Moths to Flames) who've recorded with equipment not as good as mine, yet they have CD's out on the radio, etc. So I'm wondering what I'm doing wrong!

Point being, how do you guys recommend getting thick, full, professional sound from direct input electric guitars, particularly for hardcore music? I know it's possible for those of you who are against direct input.

I'm seeking any mixing or even recording advice, especially if anyone has any PodFarm tones that have worked out well for them!
Thanks so much for any future help!

I'll upload some tracks later around 2pm, so you guys can hear what I'm talking about.

Hey dude...welcome to the fold. :drunk:

My first thought was...mic the amp...but you CAN get good results by going DI.

A couple of things to look at would be...
#1...back off the gain.
Just as a number to throw out there....if my gain for live jammin is at.....say 8...I'll back it off to 5.5 or 6 for tracking.

#2...record it twice.
For the rhythm guitars anyway. Much better fuller sound.

#3...don't track so hot.
Keep your RMS levels down to around say -18 to -12. Peaks no higher than -6.
Leave yourself some headroom.

Peace-n-shit. :D

Hey dude...welcome to the fold. :drunk:

My first thought was...mic the amp...but you CAN get good results by going DI.

A couple of things to look at would be...
#1...back off the gain.