Feedback on this grindcore mix.

ausgrindslaught

Hey guys I'm an Australian guitarist down in here Sydney. I recently bought a digital 8 track (40 gig hd, USB out, 4 mic inputs) and have been trying my hand a mixing in Cool Edit Pro.

Not sure if many of you know what it is, but my band plays grindcore - so what we need is a wall of guitars, drums cutting through the mix and a nice phat bass to round out the sound. The muddiness or cleanness of the sound depends on the individual - Nasum's Shift and Rotten Sound's Exit are very noisey, muddy albums, but are awesomely powerful. However, something like Nasum's Helvete or any Napalm Death circa 1996 to today have clean crisp productions. I'm somewhere in between there :)

Anyway so I recorded drums with a snare mic, bass mic and one overhead. Gutiars recorded straight into the 8track. Atm got 4 guitar layers, one bass and one for each drum mic. Recording wasnt the most ideal, but I'm doing a proper demo in about a month and just messing round til then.

Take a listen to my mix and give me any feedback you can. Any tips on creating a bigger sound (in regards to drums, guitar, bass I dont mind) or even clearing up a bit of the noise would be awesome. I've had a lot of double getting the dble kicks to cut through without destroying anything else.

I've been checking out the forums here and a lot of you seem to have good advice to offer. Hope the extreme genre doesnt prevent you from doing the same with me.

Cheers guys, the MP3 is at -

OMG!
The mix sounds very "mono".
Maybe pan guitars and drums?
I also think you went overboard with the level.
Nobody here would think they'd ever hear me say this, but it's much too limited and compressed :eek:
I am know as a limiting and loudness defender, but too much is too much!

Yes I'd say it is compressed and limited - look at the image of the MP3 file in Sound Forge. :D

Sorry I can't upload the whole image - got to get me one of those editors - suggestions anyone?