Alesis masterlink

VOXVENDOR

I've read most the ads and other shit about the above...They seem to mention hundreds of little features, but doesn't really come out and answer the following question.. If I buy one, will I be able to master on a close to professional scale at home?, or am I still better off to continue paying for a pro mastering suite to do the work for me...

Yo VOXVENDER:

You live where they make the great Yorkville YSM-1 monitors. [other goodies too]

I've been researching CD recorders for about six months. Most comments about the Alesis Masterlink are good. Some say the price is too high for what you get. Another post from someone said the converters are not good enough.

A friend of mine in Canada, Reno, sent me his suggestion for a Tascam box, much cheaper than the Masterlink, and highly recommended by my friend. It's the need of your studio I'd guess. I'm tempted to go for the Masterlink but may get the less costly Tascam CDRW700. Costs less here in the Colonies; about 700 Canadian, according to VOODOO-SHAMA, my friend in Canada.

It would probably help you if you could "hear" one and "USE" one to see how it suits your learning curve.

Green Hornet

green hornet//
Thanks for the info.. i already have the cdrw700... it is great, but I don't need a dup system, im interested in if the alesis, will master for me... any thoughts on this?...
Thanks.. joe

I posted quite a bit on mastering a while back --- you should find some useful info on that thread

I have a Masterlink, and I find it to be an incredibly useful item in my room- and also for recording live-to-2 in the field. I like the ability to master, mung, crop, mix and match, and then reassemble and render *before* getting to the point of committing to a CD copy. The Masterlink's internal disk replaces the reel of 2-track tape with paper leader and good old blue splicing tape, at least in my ancient worldview.