Instrumental music

Ace2000

I'm a guitarist and Im wondering what I can do with a CD full of various instrumentals. Is anyone else here a instrumentalist writer? I write vocal songs too, but lately Im working on music with lots of tempo and time changes and stuff, but will this stuff ever sell? It'll obviously never be "the hit", but is there a use fo rthis stuff anymore?

Sorry if this has already been discussed, Im new here to the BBS.

Any suggestions, encouragement and or reality checks much appreciated.

Sure Ace, there's always selling it to TV shows commercials etc..............

But keep in mind most tv people want the music to be ready to go, in other words if your music needs to be polished up then they won't want to deal with it............It has to be ready to be played and in a certain format as well........I can't remember exactly what format, but I'm sure someone else will elaborate......

Anywho, most of(or at least quite a bit of it) the music you here on TV is made in home studios.....

good luck if you try to do it.....

-nave

hey thanks, that was a very interesting article....I do believe that I can write 30 second to 1 minute pieces simliair to what i hear on tv sometimes....

But, the article doesn't tell me where to contact or who to contact to pitch a CD to? Who would I send a CD to? Any ideas?

Thanks again!

To tell you the truth Ace I couldn't really answer that question.....Howevers, I plan on trying to sell some music to TV people in the future and I've got some ideas on how I'm gonna start that I will share with you..........Actually it's just one idea

Your Local cable network if you have one........You surely can get your music on there! You might not get alot of money but It will get your music out there and give you the experience you need to be able to start pitching to larger networks....