need suggestion on audio interface please

gamba

hey,whats up? i currently use a tdw20 with a motu 828mk3 firewire hybrid interface. i'm thinking of getting rid of this interface and getting something different. what i use on the interface now is 8 analog ins (for my direct outs), midi i/o on the back, and two mic instrument ins in front. the unit also has 2 head phone outs in front. can any one give me some ideas of a new interface that match these features?

i find it a bit confusing. i'm a newbie and before the motu i started with a fast track pro but i wanted to utilize my 8 direct outs on my roland tdw 20 plus midi i/o and have at least two mic instrument inputs so i could record all my drums on individual tracks plus say a bass player and a guitar player at the same time.

Hmm, alright. Well what are you looking to spend? A simpler interface will probably be a step down in quality, MOTU interfaces are pretty nice. Maybe you should just spend some time getting to know the MOTU before you decide to sell it. I have a feeling in a year or so you will start to feel a bit limited by your new "simpler" interface and will wish you had the MOTU back.

Anyways, look into the Tascam US-1800. It's really simple, seems to have meet most of your requirements, and gets good reviews.

I agree with guitarplayr82.

Confusing? How so?

I have an 828mkII. Plugged it in and haven't changed a setting.
Are you getting too involved in making cuemixes?
(Sometimes it's best to just use basic functions and not get wrapped up in the bells-and-whistles...)

one problem is i don't know if i have to use cue mix with logic pro. another problem is that when using inst/mic inputs my signals are either clipping or too hot. the trim next to these inputs does not cut back it only boost your signal from +0 to +53. so how do i get a lets say -12 recording level in logic if my signal can not get cut back at all.