which format dig. or analog

Rusty K

Hey,

I could have sworn that I posted this message here before but I can't find it.

I just went 24bit and I would like to get straight on just how to maximize my sound quality for the eventual CD.

My soundcard support suggested that if I record analog in, that I should sample at 44100 as there would be no appreciable difference sampling at a higher rate since I'll be sampling back down for CD. Any gains would be lost.

My card is capable of 96000 in the digital format however. Am I correct in assuming that if I used my digital 4track to record and sent my tracks digitally, not optical, into my computer I could maintain the 96000 sample rate and better sound quality even though I would be eventually sampling down to 44100 again?

Would I gain any sound quality using this method of recording?

Thanks,
Rusty K

i'm pretty new to digital and pc recording, but i'd think that you'd want to keep bit depth and sample rate as high as your software and hardware will allow till burning to cd. plus i'd tranfer digital audio digitally, unless you want to degrade your sound. i'd only go analog to record my initial tracks if my ultimate destination were a cd. but that's just me....i mean you want the analog all on the front end of the process if you're going to cd...but again that's just me...

J,

Right but.....if I record "analog in" then I can't use that 96000 sample rate. To restate my question: Would I get any benefit from trying to record in digital format, therefore at 96000, and then sampling down to 44100 or would the difference in audio quality be negligible after resampling. Of course I'm at 24bit either way.

Actually I've never been completely clear on digital outs that are not optical. What is the physical difference between digital cables and analog cables that allows for transfer of digital information? Or is a converter used in either case? Is the transfer the same with a regular digital cable and an optical cable?

Thanks,