tascam 38 solenoid sticking...

iflyinmymind

Hello, my tascam 38 recorder just came in the mail and the speed control is screwed up. The solenoid is sticking...there is some rubber around the actual moving part which has broken down, and is making it all gooey. The other solenoid is fine though. I read a thread reply by 'a reel person' who stated that he had the same problem on his tascams. Does anyone know how to unstick it. What chemical/lubricant? I have 99% denatured alcohol, machine oil, white lube, graphite, and deoxit. Are these useable for this problem? If not fixable, then a new or used solenoid. Where do i get one? I am an analog newbie. Any help would be greatly appreciated so i can actually use the equipment. Thanks.

DON"T use alcohol on rubber parts.

Did your deck come with the tech manual?

A reel person will probably see this and help you out. Until then, I'll check my tech manual and see if I can come up with anything.

I haven't had that problem before. I just had to do a reel table height adjustment a week ago or so. That was a real pain in the ass. I had to strip the machine all the way down to the chassis to get at two little cap-head screws.

After re-reading your post and after refering to my manual, I am a bit confused.

Are you talking about the pitch control? If so there is no associated selenoid.

The only solenoids on the 38 are the brake solenoid and the capstan solenoid.

Would you clarify please?

Well, i took the old sticky rubber off the CAPSTAN solenoid so it would move freely, and put a new rubber washer in its place, it was the bump stop i think. Okay. the solenoid is not sticking, but the problem persists. By speed control i mean when i push play it goes just as fast as if it were in fast foward. I did not mean the pitch control , sorry...I am not sure what to do now. What should i clean the rubber with? Thaniks for responding