NAB adaptor for Tascam 38

WarmJetGuitar

Hi there!
This is my first post - this seems to be a great forum :)

I've recently bought a Tascam 38 for cheap - however it needs a new pinch roller (seems to be pretty common for Tascams) and it has a broken NAB-adaptor as well.
It's a half inch machine and I stumbled upon one from Thomann. Problem is that it says quarter inch - would it do the trick anyway? I've never seen a quarter inch machine using NAB's but then again... I am a rookie in the world of analog recording.

Can you help me out guys? Really looking forward to go all-analog - the 38 will work together with a Fostex A4 which IMO is a much better machine than their reputation says.

Yeah, you'll need the 1/2" version, I'm afraid. The one you've found is for the Tascam 32, BR-20 and other 2-track mastering decks.

Thanks a lot!
Well, my question was kindda stupid I know but I have yet to see any quarter inch machine with NABs and guessed (wrong) it might be a mistake of Thomanns. Now I know they're out there.
Let's hope Tascam/Teac Europe has some half inch NABs in stock. The heads seem alright so I'm pretty close to get it working alright.

Thanks a lot!
Well, my question was kindda stupid I know but I have yet to see any quarter inch machine with NABs and guessed (wrong) it might be a mistake of Thomanns. Now I know they're out there.
Let's hope Tascam/Teac Europe has some half inch NABs in stock. The heads seem alright so I'm pretty close to get it working alright.

Yeah, pretty much all professional 1/4" machines use NABs. Revox/Studer have their own design, and Otari also (though I hear the Otari ones are incompatible with anything else). The only exceptions I can think of are the Tascam 22 and the Fostex M20, which only go up to 7".