TC 300 vs dbx 166XL?

jjones1700

Learning, always learning
I'm torn between the two models for my vocal (speech & talking, no singing) needs. I'm doing some recordings and when I listen to them, I can hear EVERYTHING going on in the background. I don't have the luxury of having a sound proof room. The house is all tile floors and I don't have an area rug to throw down (yet).

Between the two, which would be the best bet for eliminating some of the excess noise? I'm familiar with what compression and expansion does, but I'm new to the gate/limiter side of the equation. Any suggestions??:confused:

Niether... gating will be distracting and obvious if you're gating the only source of audio... with nothing else filling in the gated signal, you'll lose the ambient room noise, all of it, and it will sound literally distressing...

I'd pick up an sE Reflexion Filter (google that, or something like it)... and set it with your back to a open closet full of clothes...

You'll be sorely dissappointed with a compressor for this purpose

Niether... gating will be distracting and obvious if you're gating the only source of audio... with nothing else filling in the gated signal, you'll lose the ambient room noise, all of it, and it will sound literally distressing...

I'd pick up an sE Reflexion Filter (google that, or something like it)... and set it with your back to a open closet full of clothes...

You'll be sorely dissappointed with a compressor for this purpose

I figured a compressor would be ideal for vocal recording. I didn't want anyone to get excited and interject a comment, and end up distorting. There will be some music thrown in from time to time of some various bands and such, but most of it will be a dialog between a couple of folks.

What kind of mic?

Nothing spectacular by any means. Shure AXS-1 and Audio Technica ST95 MkII. If things progress, I'll think about getting a pair of SM7Bs for an upgrade.

I figured a compressor would be ideal for vocal recording.