a fairly boring compressor question, concerning phantom power.

Rassoodocks

I'm fairly new to the world of compressors.. but, i was thinking recentley..., if i was to say hook up a condensor microphone into the compressor and then go into my aardvark 24/96... how would phantom power get to the condensor ?

the signal chain would be...

Mic
Compressor
Aardvark 2496 Pre/soundcard.

The problem i can see arising here is the fact that the phantom power wouldn't be passed through the compressor and onto the condensor microphone.

The only way i can think of to get around this problem is...one of two ways...

microphone,
Mic pre (with phantom power)
Comp
Aardvark.

or...

Mic,
Aardvark,
Aardvark out,
Compressor,
Aardvark.

They're both kinda overly complex... and i'm not really keen on buying a new mic pre... So... someone set me straight...that way, i can plan before i purchase....

as always, thanks in advance,
Rory.

A compressor needs a line level input, so you always need a pre-amp first in the chain (either a stand alone or a mixer's pre). Hence phantom power always comes from a pre or a mixer as they are the first thing in the chain after the mic. With the kit you've got the second set up would work, and would emulate the conventional way of using an insert of aux send from a mixer to get a signal though the compressor.

However many people would advise that you record the vocals uncompressed and use software compression on your PC - that way nothing irreversible is done to the recorded sound, and you can get a variety of s/w compressors as free plug ins.

gary... thanks so much for that... i'm clear now....