Microphone cables

Razzgospel

I suspect that there may already be a thread on this topic, but I can't find one, and I'm a newbie (as they so kindly identify me..)
I am going to buy an Audio Technica AT4040, thanks to all the good advice in here. Now, I want to know what people recommend for a microphone cable that will bring out the best in this microphone.

Any recommendations? I'm just buying one cable, so price doesn't scare me, as long as I'm getting a top quality cable.

I've gotten a couple of suggestions in the other thread I started, but because this is a question specific to microphone cables, I thought I'd start a separate thread...

Thanks to all who have responded to the other thread... You've been a great help..

This has been asked many times...but here it is anyways...if you want a premade cable at GC or something - I would say Monster or Blue Kiwi (the latter prolly being the favourite around here between those two)...Mogami, Belden, Canare are all very good choices if you are getting it custom made [or making it yourself which is highly recommended in these woods]...look for Switchcraft or Neutrik XLR connectors...

I wouldn’t recommend the B.L.U.E. unless you’re handy with a soldering iron. I got a “Cranberry” a few months ago and always used as my first-choice cable. A few weeks ago I modified a Cascade M20 mic, basically rebuilding the entire circuit via the “Scott Dorsey mod”. Upon testing the mic, I was cranking the gain while listening with headphones and noticed a buzz at high gain settings. I took the mic apart several times over a period of several days, re-soldering the ground connections and such, trying to kill the buzz. Finally, I accidentally plugged it into a cheap $7 mic cable and it sounded fine with no buzz.