Mic placed right in from of Auralex Foam

malcolm123

Anybody every tried placing a mic directly in from of say a auralex foam or some other type of padding?

I will experiment this evening,, but basically I have been recording all of my vocals for the past 3 years this way.

Is this a good practice or should I remove the foam.

My mics are all placed against a wall and I usually just pick a mic stand and move it in from of the foam before recording.

Maybe1 or 2 feet or so.

What I am doing by doing this? Am I lossing anything.

I started doing this a while back because it would take some of the ring out of the room for Vox.

Any suggestions or comments welcomed.

Thanks

Malcolm

Jusy a wild guess here, seems like you might get some amount of hard reflection from the wall in the lower end. What's 2"? About 50% absorption below three or four hundred?
If it was right on the wall you'd have a boundry mic effect with no rear return at all.
Wayne

mixsit said:
Jusy a wild guess here, seems like you might get some amount of hard reflection from the wall in the lower end. What's 2"? About 50% absorption below three or four hundred?
If it was right on the wall you'd have a boundry mic effect with no rear return at all.
Wayne

Ok,, Im trying to follow you.. The increase in the lower end seems on point.. I usually have to dial in somewhere around 250 or so and decrease maybe 1 or 2 decibles. Just depends on whos on the mic. Right now I am about to start a session with a V67g.

So your saying that the mic needs more space behind it because the back of the mic also pics up some type of reflection or sound?

The foams seems to kill some artifacts to me,, but this evening I will place it in the center of the room and compare the two positions.

Thanks

Malcolm

malcolm123 said:
..<snip>..So your saying that the mic needs more space behind it because the back of the mic also pics up some type of reflection or sound?