newbie - which kb to learn on?

Levinin

Hi, I'm looking to take up a second instrument and have decided on the piano/kb but I'm a total newbie when it comes to kb's so I'm not sure what to go for.

I've been looking at the basic offerings of Yamaha and Casio, things in the region of 100-200 GBP but don't really know what I'm looking at so I thought I'd ask you experienced folks for some advice :-)

I only have 3 requirements really, cheap (I don't know how much I will enjoy it yet), that it's portable (61 key and light I'm thinking here) and that it has proper 1/4" outputs for a mixer (ok it's not going to get used for anything serious so this isn't a real requirement, more of a preference I guess).

Do any of you excellent people have a suggestion or two? Thanks in advance for all help.

Levinin...most semi-serious musicians find "touch response" a critical requirement for a musical keyboard...the least expensive new board that I have found with touch response is the Yamah PSR-273

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7/fg=102/g=key/search/detail/base_pid/707427/

It also has 480 voices for variety and a decent 32-note polyphony (polyphony is the number of notes that can sound at once) if you ever need to use it as a sound module for full sequences (like via midi from a computer)...It has a headphone jack that can be use for making connections to a mixer.

Thanks for that mawtangent, the PSR-273 was one of my previously short-listed options so I'm glad it's been suggested.

Off to try one in a shop somewhere.... :)

Cheers ... Levinin

I started off on a non-weighted piece of crap Casio about 4 or 5 years ago.
I hated not having touch sensitivity.

Moving to a full size fully weighted digital piano of the '80s was quite painful, but it improved my technique.

I'm now using a semi-weighted keyboard, but mostly because of the price difference.

Ok what might be the next step up (or 2)?