God! Can someone PLEASE help me fix my Epiphone ES-335 Dot guitar?!?!?!

pisces7378

I am so frustrated. I have an older brother that played guitar for most of my life. He was always better than me at playing and at guitar tech type stuff. So he always used to change the strings on my guitars and he always set the action, truss rod, pick up heighth, etc...

Well, now I am all alone. I have been playing the guitar for well over 15 years. I am not arrogant, nor am I some kind of wunderkind guitar virtuoso... but I ain't bad! BUT... I don't know shit about how to maintain a guitar or fix it once problems arise. I have fret buzzing all over the place on my Epiphone ES-335 dot guitar. I know that it is no Gibson, and that it is the "knock-off" version... but I have the action set way above acoustic guitar levels. I have screwed the two screws on either side of the bridge until the strings are quite high off the fret board. But when I play a solo in and around the 12-14th fret I get third and fourth string buzz, and on the 7th-9th fret I get 1st and 2nd string buzz. The bridge screws are set so that the higher pitched strings are set way high and everywhere else on the fret board they are FINE. When I raise this side then the other side buzzes, when I raise the other side then the other side buzzes. By the end of it I feel almost like I am playing a square necked dobro or a pedal steel.

I am just looking for like a BIBLE on Gibson guitars or on electric guitar maintainance in general. I am also amplifier maintainance RETARDED!!!

Anyway... back to my Epiphone problem, what can I do? I know NOTHING about truss rods, or tension rods. I know that you can "break" them. My brother always told me, "do not touch the truss rod unless I am there, befcause you will break it. Now I am not an idiot, despite how it must sound through my brother's orders. I just basically never learned.

Where should I start?

Any book suggestions, and ANY practical tips would be great!!!

Thanks,