Philips CD Recorder - Piece of junk ??

cjacek

Analogue Enthusiast
Hello,

2 weeks ago I bought a Philips CDR770 CD Recorder and have used it no more than a handful of times. The price was very attractive being only $200 Canadian dollars + tax. Anyway, even though I'm not a newbie when it comes to gear such as this I've encountered a problem. Recently the unit became "unresponsive" when it finished "finalizing" a disc. I had to turn the unit off and on again. Other times, some of the commands for erasing a disc, even though I followed the steps carefully, failed to respond. Only when I ejected the disc and then put it back in again did I manage to erase the cd. Now, I've read a couple of negative reviews before I bought the unit but I thought what the hell, the price is good and it's a Philips. They invented the cd and how unlucky can I get ? Now I'm wondering if I should take the unit back for a full refund ? Will it give me anymore problems ?? Has anyone experienced this type of problem with a Philips ? Has anyone any advice for me ? Should I ditch that piece of junk ? Problem is that there is no way I can find another cd recorder in this price range. What to do .. what to do .. :confused:

Thanks in advance for your help and advice.

Daniel

i feel your pain

I have the same burner(double deck) my buddy has the same problem w/ finalizing with his, it will gust sit there "waiting" after finalizing, he has to turn the unit off to finish.
Another thing getting Digital audio cdrs cost twice the price of pc cdrs.
Heres a problem i have with mine, i recorded my little demo on the phillips and made a copy whent to my friends house to make copys on his pc(becuse its 8x faster and cheaper) the dam pc will not read the 1st song, ok, maybe bad disk?, i tryed 4 copys, and my master copy. put the songs in differant order, And no dice -im pissed, my last idea is to make a copy on a cdr-w and try that. but i have a feeling it will not work either.