First attempt at recording acoustic drums - Rush YYZ cover

Johnka

Hi All,

This is one of my first posts, but ive lurked for a while. I finally got some mics and an interface to capture my drums, so this is my first attempt at pulling it all together. The music is a multitrack from Rock Band, sans drums.

To me, everything sounds just okay. I'm looking for any advice (pre and post processing) that might help me dial everything in.

Video link:

YouTube - Rush YYZ Drum Cover

Please be sure to watch the HD version for the sound quality.

Thanks in advance!

Gear:
Gretsch Catalina and Renown maple
Pearl free floating maple snare
Remo Ambassador snare head
Evans EMAD bass drum head
Evans EC2 batter heads
Evans G2 resonant heads
Sabian Paragon 16, 18, 20 crash, 22 ride, 19 China
Misc Zildjian, Meinl, Paiste cymbals
DW 5000 double pedal
Mics: AKG D112 bass, Shure SM57 snare, DRM7 toms and overheads
M-Audio Profire 2626 interface
Logic Express 9

I think it sounds fine. Everything being personal, you could experiment with tuning (although the toms sound great to me), or maybe different heads, or maybe different mics. Try a subkick for some low-end thump. But really, there isn't that much to complain about. I'd be happy with this coming through the cans on playback.
You can try some processing, but it's easy to go overboard. Try compression, or some type of 'exciter'.

Thanks for the feedback, Ranjam. It's funny, I had my drums tuned exactly how I like them, but the snare sounds way too loose on the recording, and I can't seem to get it to sound right on the processing. So I tightened it quite a bit. I'll see how it sounds the next go round.

I'm very happy with the cymbal sound (thanks to the new Sabian Paragons I just got), but there's definitely work to be done on the kick, snare and toms.