Tascam US-800 vs. M-Audio Fast Track Pro

Shimada

Hey guys,

Total newbie here trying to get a decent audio interface on a budget. I'm torn between a Tascam US800 and the M-Audio Fast Track Pro. On first glance Tascam seems like the obvious choice, but the Fast Track Pro is more expensive. I was wondering if the M-Audio Interface sounds better, or if there is another reason for it to be costlier. If you guys have another suggestion in a similar price range i'm totally up for suggestions. Thank you all

Maudio is probably more expensive cos AVID got their hands on it.

It doesn't get reviewed well as often as the tascam around here.

The recent word is the Tascam will not work with W7.

Yeah their have been a couple reports from guys using W7 and having problems..but then the other day, someone chimed in, and said they have`nt had any probems at all using the Tuscam us-800 with W7..so i really do not know what to think at this point?

this guy just posted about 30 minutes ago, that he`s also running W7 and not having any problems..so that`s two people in the last couple days, saying they have`nt had any problems running W7 with the us-800...
post #54
https://homerecording.com/bbs/user-forums-brand/tascam-user-forum/tascam-us-800-a-335704/6/

After a very thorough session of researching other threads and forums, I've decided to give up on the US-800. It seems that the grand majority is having issues with the US-800 and the 64bit W7. You guys have any suggestions on other products with similar characteristics?

After a very thorough session of researching other threads and forums, I've decided to give up on the US-800. It seems that the grand majority is having issues with the US-800 and the 64bit W7. You guys have any suggestions on other products with similar characteristics?

I can`t honestly say that I blame ya for not going with the Tuscam us-800..