Struggling with getting good mixes :(

themdla

Hi everyone,

i've been recording for a few years and have always struggled with getting good mixes that have: punch, clarity, depth and separation.

nothing i've ever done sounds nearly as good as the pros :(

admittedly i don't have the best gear:

digi002, KRK rokkit 5's, basic plug-ins, etc...

and i haven't always used the best recording techniques aka actually miking instruments. Mostly i use softsynths, DI guitars and bass (with plugins for amp sounds), and sampled drums.

what drives me crazy is that everything sounds great on my monitors but after i bounce the track and take it somewhere else (Car, boombox, computer speakers) it sounds tiny!!! no low end, jacked mids, no air/shine. just dull tiny garbage.

occasionally i get lucky and 1 of 10 mixes turns out ok....

i'm thinking it's the monitors and listening position but need some seasoned advice. thx in advance, looking forward to hear from you guys :)

-Mike Duncan

and i haven't always used the best recording techniques

Well, it seems you're aware of part of the problem (a HUGE part). The other thing would be, is your mixing room treated at all?

What Rami said.

Plus....

- Get your speakers away from the wall and your mixing position out of the corner, if either of those applies.

- Learn to "translate" what you hear on your KRKs to the outside world. That is, you have learned that getting things to sound best on the KRKs is not what sounds best in the real world; so you need to figure out what it needs to sound like at your mix position so that it *does* sound good on the outside.

G.

re:

@RAMI

not having the best gear and recording real instruments are big issues. i just wish that i could at least meet the level of (DJs/electronic musicians/sample guys) with my mixes.

my room is not treated and on top of that my monitors are about 6" from the wall on my desk about a foot lower than my head...