Females: What Mic Do You Use and What Genre are You In?

R&B-N-JAZZ_LADY

"Music is My Passion"
:)Hi--
I am a newbie and I was just wondering, what microphone do you ladies used? Also, what genre are you in? I'm looking forwards in (the near future) having my very small studio (or recording room) in my apartment (in the spare bedroom) and wanted to have a good mic. My genre (as you can see from my name) is Rhythm/Blues and Jazz. However, I have been reading a lot about the SM57 or SM58 microphones... What do you think (about the mic for my genre)? :confused:

Last edited:
:)Hi
I am a newbie and I was just wondering, what microphone do you ladies used? Also, what genre are you in? I'm looking forwards in (near future) having my very small studio (or recording room) in my apartment (in the spare bedroom) and wanted to have a good mic. My genre (as you can see from my name) is Rhythm/Blues and Jazz. However, I have been reading a lot about the SM57 or SM58 microphones... What you think (about the mic for my genre)? :confused:

Although industry standard for live use....I would be very surprised to find out that anyone would recommend either of those mics as their "go to" mic for vocals in a studio setting.

If inexpensive....not "cheap", alternatives are what you are looking for, I personally would suggest checking out Rode's selection of condensor microphones.

RØDE Microphones - Our microphones

I can say "cheap" for the low costing microphones because I am not to that point as a professional nor do I have the money for a high cost microphone. Therefore, regardless it will be an expensive or inexpensive microphone; I will like to know the best to use for my vocal (as female). Thanks!! ;-)

It's all relative....what's high cost to you? Cheap, atleast to me, implies cheaply made, with cheap parts, and cheap quality control. Cheap implies to me that this microphone isn't going to last you very long because it was cheaply made. That is why I made the distinction.