at what point do you call yourself an Audio Engineer?

thajeremy

registered abuser
Although I have a full time 48 hr a week job, I have been a Home Rec'er for 7+ years now. I have recorded plenty here in my studio, and also worked in at least 2 other local studios with other engineers on many projects. One of my clients, a Christian Rapper, was recently signed with a smaller record lable that is distrubted through Universal Records. Another has been grammy nominated 4 seperate years in over 20 catigories combined. There is also a group currently working on a deal with a subsidiary of Bad Boy Records.

Anyway....some people have gone to school to learn the art of recording, mixing, mastering, and whatnot...some make a full time living at it. While some are like me...working a regular full time job and happend to get into recording as a hobby and makes a few $$$ here and there....so at what point, when someone asks, "what do you do?" would you say, "Im an audio engineer."

I've always thought of the word "professional" as meaning what one does as a profession not necessarily relating to the quality of their work. Now granted if one is making a living out a given skill the probability of them being better than someone who doesn't is higher but not always the case. I know of several pro engineers that for whatever reason left the business, that makes them no less skilled but they are no longer "professionals" at least by my definition.

I guess to answer your question , you are what allows you to eat.

....so at what point, when someone asks, "what do you do?" would you say, "Im an audio engineer."

If it's paying the bills, you can say it. Otherwise, you say: "I do audio engineering."

I'm a home recordist, so I wouldn't say either. I don't even call myself a home recordist with most people, cuz that's such a sad bastard terminology. I say: "I write and record and make CDs."