A single photograph of the Earth from space.

I didn't know about point L1. I'll have to look that up. When I studied Newton's gravitational equations we only did really basic stuff which just gave you a very basic single altitude for geostationary satellites independent of their mass.

Just rechecked - its to do with the angular velocity - I knew it was independent of the mass of the satellite but it you alter its angular velocity you alter its altitude

I didn't know about point L1. I'll have to look that up. When I studied Newton's gravitational equations we only did really basic stuff which just gave you a very basic single altitude for geostationary satellites independent of their mass.

Just rechecked - its to do with the angular velocity - I knew it was independent of the mass of the satellite but it you alter its angular velocity you alter its altitude

I'm not really familiar with LaGrange points myself!

I'll just go pour a drink while I wait for the first person to claim it's a fake and part of a government/NASA conspiracy.

I better be quick though.

It's a nice composite.....again.

From the article:

"NASA’s Earth Polychromatic Imaging Camera, or EPIC for short, produces pictures by combining multiple images taken in different wavelengths ".

Still no picture of earth from space. Just a composite, as usual. Thanx for confirming that. :)

Besides, I thought there were thousands of satellites surrounding earth. Wouldn't it look more like this?

Probing satellites? mysterious death tumbling / Clean Space / Space Engineering & Technology / Our Activities / ESA

I'm not going to ruin your thread. But I think it's a legitimate question.

---------- Update ----------

Didn't have to wait long, Bobbsy. :)

Nobody has to claim it's fake. NASA confirms it's a composite.