large delay is causing sync problems

busboy

I'm having a problem with a long pause between sound input and monitor response.

Here's what I mean: I already have one guitar track recorded. I'm trying to lay a second guitar track over the top of the first. The problem is when I started recording the second track there was a 1 to 2 second pause between me actually strumming, and the sound actually playing through the headphones. It's like an echo or delay.
Even if I'm not recording anything, just testing for levels or something, every sound is delayed about 1 to 1 1/2 seconds. Obviously this makes live monitoring nearly impossible for recording new tracks.

Now here is the really odd part. If I take off my headphones and just play along with the other track, everything records just fine. Everything plays back perfectlly syncronized, it's just if I try to monitor the live sound while I play that causes so many problems.

I'm not very good at describing what is going on, but hopefully you get the idea. If you have any ideas what might be causing this, please let me know.

thank

Hi busboy,

I suspect it has something do between the way you monitor with headphones and the way you monitor through your speakers, and whether you are monitoring from the output of your card, or via software. What type of sound setup is this?

Sorry for the short reply, but if you tell me what your exact setup is I may be able to help better - Version of Cubase, Type of soundcard, are you using a mixer etc...

Thanks,

Emeric

Well, I'm using Cubase VST Score 3.55. The soundcard I'm using is just an plain old Ensoniq PCI full duplex card. The mic I'm using is plugged directly into the "line in" jack on my card. The mixer I'm using is the Cubase VST mixer that is included with the software package.