Need help with finishing touches on my tracks

mattkw80

I used Adobe Audition with a M-Audio MobilePre. (Which works great). I am new to home recording but I am devoting as much time to it as possible, as I know practice is the only way to get better.

Anyway, what I need to know is : Once my tracks are all recorded, mixed to my liking, and I do a "mixdown" what is the usual routine after that ?

I have been :

1. Adding a bit of reverb to the mixdown
2. Doing my amplify/fade in and fade outs
3. Amplify / Hardlimiting to -3 db
4. Saving my finished track as "songtitle.wav" (PCM wave file)

I have recorded many songs and saved them in a folder to eventually put on a lo-fi home recorded album.

My biggest question is : Is there something else I should be doing after mixdown than the 4 things I listed.

Any filters I should run ?
Mastering ?
ANYTHING ?

Please Help

1. Adding a bit of reverb to the mixdown
sure...but, only if it needs it...
2. Doing my amplify/fade in and fade outs
sure...why not......
3. Amplify / Hardlimiting to -3 db
ummm...no.....that's too low....try -.25 db...get the loudest mix you possiblly can without clipping...
4. Saving my finished track as "songtitle.wav" (PCM wave file)
yes....and after do a "save as" an MP3 so that you can post it on the net and we can listen......

other than that you might want a slight curve thrown on the whole mix....but, only if you really need it...
The way I figure it is that once you are ready to hit the mix......that should be it....no clue as to mastering man...but mastering is really for more than one song...it's what they do to make all the tracks on a CD be at the same levels....and placed in a certain order...ya know?

later,
Joe

Okay,

That helps alot. I will start hard limiting to .25
instead of -3. (I noticed most tracks off of CD go beyond
0 and even clip in Adobe Audition).

Is there a compressor filter I should run ?

Any other tips ?

(Your comments so far are really helping, thanks again).