just how cool is cool edit pro?

rats

I'm relatively new to the arena of PC recordings, but I've got a few full-on cooledit pro recordings under my belt now. I've been through the process, and I do agree it's pretty fucking cool. My tests runs have been somewhat limited, just trying t get through all the way to mixdown, so I may not be aware of all that the program has in store for me. My recordings have comprised of up to 15 tracks in up to a 5.5 minute song. I haven't come across any problems that I could fix here at this forum.

I'm looking to hear from a few of you that have been around the program to see what you like about it, it's best features, and what sucks. I'm looking to start recording with the whole band on my machine, and I hate suprises when they come up in bad times. I don't see us getting much more than 15 tracks a song, and I have yet to record live drums (used drum machine).

Some things I really dig is "undo", the envelope filters, and some of the crazy delay effects. It's really user friendly so far.

Some things that I'm not digging are the reverbs, and the compressor seems like a bitch to use.

Anyone?

I love the timed record feature because alot of the time I am the only one recording and its a bitch going back and forth and pressing the record and stop buttons. Too bad it can be done in multitrack view.

In Multitrack view, my favorite feature is probably Punch In since I can fix any of my mistakes I have made in a track.

Cool Edit Pro is the best multitrack program that I have ever used. Even though I have only tried this, Goldwave, Cakewalk Pro Audio 9, and N-Track Studio, Cool Edit Pro beats those down in my book.