better EQ?

dobro

To get better EQ than CEP provides, I'm gonna have to get my hands on an expensive plugin, right? Waves, for example. Anything else anyone knows of?

Better is a pretty subjective term and the merits of various plug ins is a hotly debated topic. Several of the plug ins I like are not the "hot" ones others swear by. That being said, a lot of direct X plugs are listed at: http://www.thedirectxfiles.com/ some of these are free. The number of plugs in available increases if you get a vst wrapper, then you can use them in cool edit as well and many of them are free.

Hmm... that would suggest that the plugins you mention are all about the same level of quality, since it's just a matter of taste. That would also suggest that paying something substantial would get you higher quality, would get you to the point where everybody would agree that it sounds better than CEP. That's what I'm looking for.

Alternately, since I have no experience here, I could just be talking out me arse...

I used cool edit for 3 months before buying my waves pack. I haven't used any CEP fx since. (with the exception for some of the filters to get those odd sounds)

The Waves plugs are popular and expensive for a reason...(well partially) They sound great...so transparent.

The CEP plugs sound good.....but the waves win hands down...especially the renaissance line.( compressor, eq and the new renaissance bass...these are the only plugs I use in CEP..

Now only if all my equipment sounded as good as these plugs....

hey Dobro.....Do you have an mp3.com page? I don't think I've heard any of your stuff....

Ah, now - someone with experience of both - that's what I was looking for. Thanks for confirming my suspicion. Another direction clear to me, and involving money. :)

I put an mp3 up at garageband.com last December, but the sound quality was low. It's called Arithmetic.