Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Audio is flatlined

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Audio is flatlined

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Screen Shot 2015-06-30 at 9.22.39 PM.png

    I was mixing audio from a live performance when there was a power outage. I turned my MAC back on and opened Audition 5.5 to finish the edit and all of my files are flatlined. There is no volume at all. The tracks shows they are being played, but no wav signal. I'm using a Presonus Audiobox USB for my interface. I have checked the in put and output settings and they are set for the interface. I'm sure there is something simple that I'm missing. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    ArizonaMaybe
    Age
    69
    Posts
    9,553
    Thanks
    219
    Thanked 173 Times in 161 Posts
    Rep Power
    9581210
    Subscribing.. I've not heard of this and interested where it leads.
    I have heard this is easy to have happen during the recording..
    I do hope it turns out well, BUT.. Job one at the end of each session- shoot at every major break in the session..
    Do Your Backups!
    Placebo stomps 96k ....... Recent projects
    Ray Catfish Copeland 'Got Love Jim Goodman 'Southern Steel

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to mixsit For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ranelagh Tasmania
    Age
    68
    Posts
    7,884
    Thanks
    216
    Thanked 629 Times in 511 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474858
    Have you tried playing those files in any other application, e.g. winamp, vlc or some kind of media player?

    Have you examined their properties to see what size they are?

    It's a new one on me, and I'm not sure what might have happened.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to gecko zzed For This Useful Post:


  6. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I think I have figured out the problem. I had the audio on an external drive and was saving back to that drive. After the power outage, Adobe Audition didn't recognize the files for some reason. Luckily I had the audio files from the soundboard audio. I reloaded those files and it worked. The downside is, I have to remix the audio. From now on every session will be saved to the main hard drive then moved to the external drive.

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    ArizonaMaybe
    Age
    69
    Posts
    9,553
    Thanks
    219
    Thanked 173 Times in 161 Posts
    Rep Power
    9581210
    Quote Originally Posted by Rich Rule View Post
    .. From now on every session will be saved to the main hard drive then moved to the external drive.
    Moved? Or copied?
    Placebo stomps 96k ....... Recent projects
    Ray Catfish Copeland 'Got Love Jim Goodman 'Southern Steel

  8. #6
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Pasadena California
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    This screams of the importance of having UPS battery power on your computer and recording gear. They are cheap these days. Not only will they protect you from the above scenario during a power outage but may save your valuable hardware in the case of a large violent power bump that could fry your computer.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. recording audio with 2496 m audio sound card and behringer 802x mixer
    By leo123ok in forum Cakewalk / Sonar Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-25-2012, 07:19
  2. Audio-Technica ATH-M50 with Xonar STX or external audio interface
    By TEFL in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-16-2011, 07:16
  3. cubase SX- midi audio plays audio audio doesnt
    By Tommyten in forum Newbies
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-07-2011, 13:00
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-15-2003, 17:00
  5. Help! My soundwaves have flatlined
    By dudleys100 in forum Cakewalk / Sonar Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-23-2002, 12:32

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •