AA 3 With Alesis Firewire Multimix 16 and an MBOX?

SteveSmith

Hey guys,

Thanks for viewing my post. New here so if I'm in the wrong spot please forgive me. But I'm getting into recording and had a question.
I currently use AA 3 and have an Alesis Firewire Multimix 16. I am a drummer and I have recently upgraded my kit. In doing that I need a couple extra channels when recording. Right now I use all 8 of the xlr inputs on the alesis multimix. I also have an Mbox with the two xlr inputs on it. My question is can I use the Multimix for the 8 channels and at the same time use the Mbox for 2 extra channels in order to have 10 simultaneous channels?

adding hardware for extra tracks

Yes, you probably can but the problem that could arise is the extra 2 tracks from the Mbox may not be in sync and will drift way out with longer takes. I tied this using to separate sound cards and had this issue. The problem is each hardware input device has its own its own internal time clock. Unless you have a way of linking them together and using only one clock for both devices the tracks will drift out of sync. It will get even worse with alot of track editing is done. I do know the Delta 10 boards will allow you to this with special cable between the boards

I hope that helps.

Moptop

Hey guys,

Thanks for viewing my post. New here so if I'm in the wrong spot please forgive me. But I'm getting into recording and had a question.
I currently use AA 3 and have an Alesis Firewire Multimix 16. I am a drummer and I have recently upgraded my kit. In doing that I need a couple extra channels when recording. Right now I use all 8 of the xlr inputs on the alesis multimix. I also have an Mbox with the two xlr inputs on it. My question is can I use the Multimix for the 8 channels and at the same time use the Mbox for 2 extra channels in order to have 10 simultaneous channels?

ASIO specs are >one< asio device driver at one time.