HD24XR won't mount 500gb Western Digital HDD

gandalf_grey91

I'm a newbie and I need some help/advice. I have a HD24XR that has been working with a pair of 120gb HDDs, one seagate and the other western digital.
I have tried to upgrade the western digital 120gb with a 500gb western digital but it will not mount. Simply gives a strange message about checking jumpers. I know others must have experience with this problem. Can anyone explain why it occurs? And how to work around to add large HDDs?

I'm a newbie and I need some help/advice. I have a HD24XR that has been working with a pair of 120gb HDDs, one seagate and the other western digital.
I have tried to upgrade the western digital 120gb with a 500gb western digital but it will not mount. Simply gives a strange message about checking jumpers. I know others must have experience with this problem. Can anyone explain why it occurs? And how to work around to add large HDDs?

Make certain the new drive is set as a master and not "cable select." Verify that it's a PATA rather than a SATA drive.

Check the database over at http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/hd24/?yguid=521206 I vaguely recall that there is a mod to the drive bay that allows bigger drives but I'm not 100% sure.

When I say bigger I mean capacity not physical size.

But Thank you, I signed up and downloaded the drive_compatability.txt text file and guess what! The WD5000AAKB drive I got is listed as incompatible.
That's that, I guess!

Many thanks for the help, RRuskin.

When I say bigger I mean capacity not physical size.

That's what I meant as well.

.............I signed up and downloaded the drive_compatability.txt text file and guess what! The WD5000AAKB drive I got is listed as incompatible.
That's that, I guess!