Why not use different sized monitors?

HopeForTheBest

Hi All,
For my new Kawai MP7 digital piano I want either 5" or 8" monitors.
I will use them for personal playing at home mainly, and maybe later for recording.
The 8" monitors sounded better in the store, but a pair of them is over my budget.

So I thought, why not get one 8" monitor for the middle to low notes (the left speaker output)
and a 5" for the mid to upper notes (the right speaker).
Is there a reason they need to be the same size?

Also, I thought that since the 8" and 5" have different frequency response curves, together they will average out to an even flatter response than if they are the same.

Since I am totally new to audio/recording engineering, i thought I had better ask first.
Thanks for your help.

hey, just my take on your situation. Conceivably you could use two different sized monitors, but i doubt you would actually get any real benefit by doing so. Even if you can route sections of your keyboard to left or right outputs independently, effectively you are just monitoring in mono, with a speaker with more drivers. If the speakers were set apart as is usual for stereo listening, the notes will jump from left to right, which i imagine would be pretty annoying and just sound 'wrong', it'd probably sound better having them close to each other, for a mono image, in which case you may as well just use one speaker. Given you said that you may want to use your monitors for stereo monitoring when recording in the future, a pair of mismatched monitors would be a very real hindrance when you are mixing, if not next to useless for detailed listening. If you liked the sound of the 8" monitor, why not just monitor in mono using one for now, using the L/mono out from the MP7, save what you would have spent on the 5", and when you have enough money for the second 8" speaker, add that and monitor in stereo. That's probably what I'd do.