Why do we come here?

Smithers XKR

Firstly I just want to say that this is a great forum and I have gained so much help from here.

I have to admit slightly that my motives for being on here are slightly selfish, I want to get technical info.

I am a 57 year old musician guy who has recently retired and setting up all of my music gear back up again in a small room.

There are retired professional sound engineers here offering free advice and I am just soaking it all up.

And have had some nice chats with oldies like me about all genres of music recording and all formats and eras.

Its great to be here 🥰🥰😉😉🤘🤘👍👍

I started coming here around 99. Was just starting into computer recording and there was NO WHERE to get info on making computers running Windows 95 to play nice with the very few interface offerings at the time. It's a great resource.

I guess for me, there's a ,kind of weird pride in stopping people doing the wrong things, or taking really dodgy internet advice, some of which is really wrong. I'm really good at sucking up trivia and remembering it - so when I hear people have trouble, asking to help - I like to think it's the right thing to do, to help. I'm not an expert on anything, but good enough to be paid for a very wide range of things.

It's give and take for me. I have received plenty of helpful information and I believe in paying it forward so I am more than happy to give information when I think it will actually help someone.

There are retired professional sound engineers here offering free advice and I am just soaking it all up.