Which VSTi or Synthesizer do you use for recording?

aorkennykiller

Hey i'm new to the whole home recording studio hobby and was wondering what VSTi do you use for your keyboard? I am a Pianist/Vocalist that is looking to record some casual covers and possibly originals for fun.

Hello “aorkennykiller”!

I know there are a lot of VST’s, and even more when it comes to piano. But one I can advise, 'cause I use it a lot, is “sonatina symphonic orchestra”, a very good and also free VST, which includes each orchestra instrument, and also a great Grand Piano.

I also hear a lot of good things about a VST called “Piano One”, but I never tried that out.

Check this out, I’m sure you can find a lot of good stuff:

KVR: Plug-ins - KVR Ranks

I dont think you can go wrong with Kontakt by Native Instruments and any of its libraries...Alicias Keys is one of the best piano libraries out there

but its not free

I dont think you can go wrong with Kontakt by Native Instruments and any of its libraries...Alicias Keys is one of the best piano libraries out there

but its not free

And this touches on one of the problems I have with deciding where to throw my money. When I look at what's available it always comes down to samples and triggers. I can buy just the samples (e.g., N.I. KOMPLETE 8 Ultimate), just a trigger (e.g. Korg microKEY, Akai MPK88), or a trigger that includes samples (e.g., Korg microARRANGER, N.I. Maschine MK2). In regards to the latter the bundled samples may... or may not... be used independent of the hardware.