What to do about Jobs in the music production industry

mandy0501

Hey everyone, I’m currently in school for music production gaining my associates degree. One thing I often find myself thinking about is jobs after the fact. Does anyone have any tips on getting jobs in the industry when you’re new? Also any tips for school?

I'm not in the music industry, but having just finished a Master of Science in a totally unrelated field, my advice for approaching your degree is to treat it like a full time job. I didn't apply myself much during undergrad. Once I graduated I worked in a really busy restaurant for awhile. It was brutal work--long days, constantly understaffed, OSHA violations all over the place, classic food industry stuff.

But the upshot is that I went back to graduate school with a much more committed and organized approach than I used to take with my education. That made it much easier for me to really understand the course content, engage with my professors (I can't recommend this enough--email your profs about the stuff you're interested in!) and get what I wanted from my classes.

Good luck!