Vocal EQ on BR-900 CD

gjackson

I need some help using the EQ on my BR-900 CD. First off, I'm brand new at recording and don't know much about EQ or how it works. I'm trying to read whatever I can about it to learn more. I'm having problems getting a good sound out of my vocals, and I've read that you can do some things to get better sound out of vocal recordings. They are as follows:

1. Boost the EQ at 200 Hz to add fullness to the vocals
2. Boost the EQ at 5 kHz to add vocal presence

I've only had my BR-900 a few months, but I'm under the impression that I can boost or reduce one frequency, but not more than one (basically do only one of the above things that I mentioned instead of both of them).

Am I way off base on this, or can both of those things be accomplished? Any suggestions?

gjackson said:
I need some help using the EQ on my BR-900 CD. First off, I'm brand new at recording and don't know much about EQ or how it works. I'm trying to read whatever I can about it to learn more. I'm having problems getting a good sound out of my vocals, and I've read that you can do some things to get better sound out of vocal recordings. They are as follows:

1. Boost the EQ at 200 Hz to add fullness to the vocals
2. Boost the EQ at 5 kHz to add vocal presence

I've only had my BR-900 a few months, but I'm under the impression that I can boost or reduce one frequency, but not more than one (basically do only one of the above things that I mentioned instead of both of them).

Am I way off base on this, or can both of those things be accomplished? Any suggestions?

I have the BR1600 so I am not sure if the eq's are the same here but here goes.