Those dirt cheap condensers someone posted about

Tomm Williams

Recall a post not long ago about these $30-ish LDC's on Ebay from China. Has anyone actually tried one out ? No one in their right mind could expect a great mic but I have seen very cheap mics that performed well beyond their price point.

Not long ago I ordered a number of $40 headsets for my AT3000 units as back ups, they turned out being incredible sounding mics for the money. I now find myself in a position where 4-6 extra LDC's would be helpful, just wondering ..................................

If all else fails, I'll order one and let you guys know what I think.

I've been importing mics for quite a few years, and as yet, have not had any that were anything other than rather good. I always keeps some for my mic box, and I use many of these myself, and while they're bright, compared to a European mic, they're useful and worthy mics. I've given up about people slagging Chinese mics off - but in five years or so - I've had two with easily fixed dry joints, and one that just sounded strange. That's not bad at all. I'd suggest you buy a few and try them out - I've only learned to avoid cheap dynamics and anything USB - everything else has been well worth it. I sell direct and on ebay, and the strange thing is that people often buy one, then come back to buy more - which is always good. For some strange reason I've been sending quite a few to South Africa!

OK, made some progress on this. Buddy in Reno who operates a pretty nice little studio just got one of these, the BM700. Price with shipping was a whopping $22.06 (AFAIK) He has quite a bit of experience in both recording and live sound with a decent inventory for comparisons.