Tascam 22-2 Capstan Not Starting & Slowing Down

samsteele

Hi Everyone,
I'm brand new to this community as I just got my first reel to reel deck: a Tascam 22-2. I am an enigineer and am pretty good with electronics and mechanics, but I'm new to these systems so I am looking for some advice.

Initially the deck would only work in FF/RW and not Play/Rec. I opened up the unit and saw that the belt was completely disintegrated, so I purchased a new belt from ebay and installed the belt.

After installing the belt, I noticed that it seemed like the capstan motor was not strong enough to move the flywheel since it was still not moving. After trying play mode once or twice, I noticed the solenoids (for break and capstan) stopped working (previously they worked). At this point I checked the fuses with a multi-meter., and F505 and F503 were both out so I replaced those. The solenoids started working again and I started to see a sign of life from the capstan motor.

The capstan motor seems very weak though. Most of the time, it cannot start on its own when it's connected to the flywheel via the belt (no issue when it's not under load), but if I manually spin it to 'kick start' it, it seems to get up to speed. The high/low speed seem to be working as well. Using this kick start method I was able to get 1-2 seconds of recording until the motor slowed and stopped again.
Based on feedback from another thread here I tested the pinch roller tension and that didn't seem to help either. I also adjusted the clearance between the capstan shaft and plate in the unit per the manual. The motor and flywheel seem to spin freely manually, so it doesn't seemed like any bearings are binding.

So now I am thinking a couple of possible causes of a weak capstan motor:
1. The motor itself could be bad
2. The power supply to the motor is bad (could this be some capacitors that need to be replaced?)