Styrofoam fire hazard

Bloomington

I am very new to recording and am too pondering sound deadening booths and materials. I want to add one word of caution regarding using typical building materials such as styrofoam or foam furniture cushion material.

These materials are not designed to be placed on walls or ceilings and left exposed (that is not covered with sheetrock). If ignited their flame spread rate and smoke production rate is astronomical. I am a 27 year veteran firefighter by trade and can well attest to the hazards of these materials when used for other than designed purposes.

Yes I sometimes "cheat" and do things not entirely correctly (trying to save money) - but if you do, take extreme precautions to make sure no ignitions sources are present and try not to leave these materials hanging exposed on ceilings and walls when not in use.

Have fun but stay safe!!!

Greats advice Bloomington!

When I was a little kid a couple friends of mine, brothers, were playing with an old foam mattress. They liked the cool whizzing sounds the foam made as it burned and dripped. I watched in terrifying amazement as the younger one locked his brother in a big dog cage in the back yard and threw the burning mattress on top. Sticky, flaming, black whizzers rained down on him as he screamed and scampered in the cage. Luckily I got him out before he was seriously hurt. I hate to think what a room full of that stuff could do to someone.

Thanks,
barefoot

I agree completely - we had a house burn due to a foam mattress catching alight. The cleanup was mainly getting rid of the black scum covering everything.

Yes - take note of Bloomingtons excellent advice.

Cheers
john

Yes, indeed: excellent point. Thanks for bringing it up!