Song Collaboration: Robus, Ibleedburgundy, easlern

I quite like this song. Bass tone is weird though. Needs to be smoother and deeper, sounds like its got a bit of drive on it and stacks of treble.

I agree with ray that the ending is odd.

A disclaimer is in order: I’m pretty new to this, so don’t treat me as an authority on anything!

It's cool, this the MP3 Clinic. We are all authorities on everything! ;) Seriously, all comments are welcome. People come with different levels of skill and experience and that's how communities are. All of us who post here regularly have improved and learned from all kinds of comments, and not just from those who have vast experience.

I hear you about the wide guitars. I keep pushing them wider to achieve that "empty space" you mention in the middle. It's an aesthetic and not everybody agrees with it, but that space in the middle is close to the Number 1 thing I try to achieve in my mixes. To my ears it makes every instrument sound different and better than it would sound in a close mix. I don't know how I arrived at this approach--it's certainly become more articulated and purposeful since I began posting on the forum. But I was listening last night to some 4 track cassette recordings I made in the mid-90s and the guitars were all wide.

JDOD and rayc, thanks for commenting. I was hoping you might. You both mention the bass and are looking at the same thing from different angles. It's a pretty lively or bouncy bass line--maybe too much so, but it's a blast to play. I can't get a line like that to cut through on a P bass, it needs the tighter, more muscular tone of a Jazz. Which I think is what JDOD is hearing. However, I have been giving the P bass some love lately. Stay tuned!