Recording Interface or Pickups for better Sound?

Tynted

Hello there,

I'm very new to recording and everything, so sorry if this is a common question or in the wrong section. Preliminary searches didn't really find me anything, though. Anyway, to begin, here's my setup and usages. First, I play almost entirely metal or rock, and I use a Line 6 Guitar Port (not the XT or GX, just the standard) to connect my guitars to my computer. I use the onboard audio on my motherboard for my sound processing (which does a damn good job on video game sound, I would say; unsure about guitar sound processing.) I use Guitar Rig 5 for my guitar tones. For my main guitar I use an ESP LTD EC-200QM with LH-301 passive pups.

Now, onto the main point of my post: I am unhappy with the sound quality I get when recording with Guitar Rig. I like to do song covers (just for fun to show friends) where I just play along with the song, but oftentimes the result of my recorded guitar comes out muddy sounding and has a lot of noise along with it. It's worse than what I hear when the sound is processed live (presumably because it's compressed) and it makes it really hard to make my covers actually sound good.

So, I'm unsure as to what would help me cure this problem the best. My guitar has some rather shitty pickups in it, but they don't sound THAT bad (not that good either) when I play 'em live through my speakers. So, would changing the pickups in my guitar to, say, Duncan Distortion and a SH-2 Jazz help this sound issue?

OR, should I go with a better audio interface? The Line 6 POD UX1 and UX2 are pretty popular I've seen. Or is my problem that I need to record with a better recording program (such as FL Studio with Guitar Rig 5 as a Plug-In) and do some optimization to my recording process? I am a college student on a tight budget, so I want the biggest bang for my buck on whatever I choose to upgrade.