Realistic Drum Programming, Lesson 1: BEATS

Vhyle

A poster in a previous thread asked me you can create more realistic programmed drums. Ever since the release of my album, I've gotten a lot of very positive reception on how realistic the programmed drums sounded. So, here I am! I'm gonna show you many of the tips and tricks I use to create more realistic programmed drum tracks.

Quick background - I'm a drummer and a guitarist. I've been playing drums for 15 years, and guitar for about 11. I would have loved to just record drums for the album, but with my living situation, it couldn't be done, so I went the programmed route. So I learned how to program drums, and then I learned how detailed and in depth I can get with the drumming. It's a lot of tedious work, but the work definitely pays off, and you will end up with much more detailed, ear-pleasing drum tracks.

So, here we go! I'll post these in lessons, since this first lesson alone is pretty pic and mp3 heavy. This first lesson is fine-tuning a simple 4/4 drum beat. This is just a small fraction of what I can show you guys what to do.

For these lessons, I'm utilizing EZDrummer with the standard rock/pop kit, and Reaper 4.0. These principles can be applied to all of the EZDrummer expansions as well.

This is a drum beat in 4/4 time, at 120bpm. About as standard as you can get. This drum beat is executed with 8th notes on the hi-hat. Here are two measures of the beat, posted as separate images.

For quick reference in the images: top line of blocks is the hi-hat; second line is the snare; third line is the kick; and fourth line is the crash cymbal (only one block in these examples)

1_simple_beat.jpg

2_simple_beat.jpg

Two important details can be learned in these two measures alone.