real drums, electric drums, or button pushing?

guitardude520

So I have been trying to make some decent drum loops in ableton without any success... They are either generic sounding, or I don't know... missing that special something. I am now looking to possibly invest in a drum set to make drum loops. My question is if I should get a real drum kit, an electric drum kit, or if I just don't know what I'm doing in ableton and need help with technique and midi assignment. I would like to be able to do this with ableton and my apc40 midi assigned to some drum sounds, but only if it is possible to get truly great drum sounds... Does anyone have a video or setup like this they use? Perhaps give me a little knowledge of your process? Otherwise, should I get a drum kit and mic it? Should I get an electric kit and just send it to the DAW? Perhaps some brands, the budget is about $500 right now... Thanks in advance to anyone with some knowledge, I'm just a guitarist trying to make some decent backing drums for writing and jamming solo...

500 bucks is pretty thin for a real kit and mics, or an e-kit. If you just want basic drum tracks, use a programming software like ez drummer or something similar. Recording actual drums with good results takes a lot of time, patience, and trial and error.

But then again, nothing compares to real drums really played by a real person. :)

But then again, nothing compares to real drums really played by a real person. :)

X10

- in a pinch EZdrummer is a great app, but i use it to replace a real drummer playing e-drums via midi - it has some nice beats in it though for writing purposes

500 bucks is pretty thin for a real kit and mics

Not to mention a soundcard with 8 inputs. Plus, going through all that effort just to make drum loops isn't worth it. Stick with programming drums. Addictive drums, EZ drummer, BFD, are all pretty common.

You can find a used e kit for less than 500.

The problem with real kits is that you have to have: