Quality Control???

jmz93

Background:
I'm new at mixing and mastering, and I don't have much experience with hip hop.
I'm in my mid-30's, and the last time I seriously paid attention to "rap" was Public Enemy, NWA, early Ice Cube etc. the stuff that was big just before the rules on sampling changed, and that sound collage approach went away.

Anyway, fast-forward to 2011, and someone contacts me to "mix" their hip hop.

they send me low bitrate mp3's, one consisting of everything except the vocal - beat, synth pads, sound effects, everything, and already compressed to hell. We're talking -10dB RMS here, and sounding like a cassette recorded too hot.

the second mp3 contained their vocal, not time aligned to the backing track, and clearly recorded in front of their speakers. Headphone bleed is one thing and I'm used to it, but this was severe.

How common is this in the genre?

I realize part of my job is communicating with clients, diplomatically trying to help, suggesting for example to record to wav files, keep the parts separate, wear headphones when recording vocals, etc. The client chose to ignore all of this advice.

Is this level of quality really common?
I realize that many people are on tight budgets, doing this for the first time on their laptop etc. That's fine. I just want to know what to expect to receive from folks.

IN this particular case, I struggled a lot to try and get the vocal to sound like it belonged on top of that already mixed/overcompressed backing, and since the vocal drifted somehow, I was highlighting vocal phrases and moving them around, all the while hoping that what I was doing is what the client wanted.

That's another thing... I would listen to the monitor bleed on the vocal and line the part of the backing track I heard up perfectly with the copy I had, but by the chorus or the end of the first verse, the vocal would be wildly out of sync again.
Can things actually get warped like this by mp3 conversion?