order of chain? usb midi controller & usb mixer

Dastardly

Hi,

Thanks for reading. Im new to building my home studio and putting together my gear. I'm using windows 7, Reaper DAW, EZ Drummer 2..........

And i got a Behringer UMA25s Midi Controller/Audio Interface (usb) and a Peavey PV6USB mixer. I was planning on connecting the UMA25 to the pc and running a mixer off of that, which is how the manual says to do it. But when i got my mixer it is also USB.

Do i even need to use the mixers usb? or would i be better off not chaining the 2 and using seperate USB inputs?

I wasnt planning on the mixer having a usb out. I needed it to hook to the midi so id have mic & guitar inputs to my pc. ---oh yeah ...I also have a Line 6 guitar port i thought id need but probably wont...also usb of course.

The UMA25s i bought basically to control EZdrummer 2, but im sure ill eventually use it for other things including controlling the faders and transport in my DAW (hopefully).

Its just alot all at once and I work long hours. Im a bit overwhelmed and would appreciate a head start on figuring the most efficient setup.

Thanks in advance.

From what I can tell, the Behringer's USB also send sounds out to the computer the Peavey as well. You will have conflicts when recording as you are not likely to be able to record the sounds from the Behringer and the Peavey at once. When you want to record from the Behringer, you will need to select it in Reaper and record (dust analog, the MIDI/Controller part is different). When you want to record with the Peavey, you will need to select it and record.