One man band advice

brianXXX

Hallo everyone, nice to meet you all,

I'm a solo artist and I play congas, marimba, electric and acoustic guitar, native American flute, as well as a number of other trinkets. I'd like to make recordings with each of these instruments providing different tracks for a particular song.

So my first question is, if I'm recoding each instrument separately does it matter how many tracks my recording device has? I had planned on getting an 8-track reel to reel, but do I need one (8 whole tracks) if I?m only recording two tracks at once - a stereo recording of each instrument I play. I guess its difficult to get a good reel to reel which is under 8 tracks. I realise that bouncing results in diminishing quality, but I thought that perhaps I could record a track (2 actually for stereo) to tape and then send it to the PC via a A/D, I could then mix all the tracks on my PC. The reason I wish to have a digital master is because I wish to make CD copies of my recordings for sale etc.

What do you guys think of this approach, and how would you go about it? Would you simply record all the tracks to tape, one by one, and then make an analog master tape from the output of your mixer, and then send this master to your PC by converting the reel to reel output to digital to make your CDs? Would you recommend one approach over the other? Would you think its better to mix in digital or analog ? I guess the difference would be down to the circuitry of the mixer ? but as I?m totally new to recording, I?m really just guessing. I?ve also just realized that you could send the output of the mixer directly to the PC, instead of making an analog master tape and sending that to the PC. Which of these is better?

If you were a solo artist who recorded alone and recorded each instrument separately, how would you go about producing a CD via analog tape.